AUTHOR INTERVIEW FRIDAY – MEREDITH SCHORR

I am pleased to welcome my good friend, fellow blogger and writer, Meredith Schorr, the author of the chick lit novels, Just Friends With Benefits, State of Jane and Blogger Girl.

We met as bloggers in 2008 and instantly clicked because at that time we primarily blogged about our dating lives. Through sharing and commiserating with each other about our nutty, funny dating experiences, and some heartbreaks, we realized how much we had in common. When we left the site in 2010, Meredith went on to write her fantastic debut novel, Just Friends With Benefits. She continues to entertain readers and her many fans with her quick wit, wonderful and vulnerable characters, and stories that all women can relate to. I am a fan 🙂

Welcome, Meri!

What is your book’s genre/category? – 

Blogger Girl is a chick lit/romantic comedy novel.

Please describe what the story/book is about.

Kimberly Long is a legal secretary at a NYC law firm who also runs a very popular chick lit book blog called Pastel is the New Black. Kim’s world is turned upside down when she is asked to review the debut novel of her high school nemesis, Hannah Marshak. Additionally, Kim’s budding relationship with a successful attorney at her job and the appearance of a condescending new colleague make me Kim question whether being a blogger girl” makes the grade in her offline life.

How did you come up with the title? –

Kim is a blogger and she’s a girl. Voilá!

What is the reason you wrote this book?

Book bloggers have been so instrumental to the marketing of all of my books and I have become close friends with many of them. They work tirelessly to promote authors and I wanted to turn the spotlight on them for a change. I also have a bit of book blogger envy as I love to review books but, as an author myself, I do not feel comfortable posting negative reviews. By writing Blogger Girl, I got to live vicariously through Kim.

What is your favorite part of writing?

Getting out of my own head and creating a fictional world for others.

What is the most challenging aspect of writing?

Finding the time!

Who are some of your favorite authors?

Rainbow Rowell, Catherine McKenzie, and Sophie Kinsella are among my favorites.

What authors or person(s) have influenced you? 

Emily Giffin and Catherine McKenzie for the authentic and flawed characters they create and Sophie Kinsella for her humor.

Favorite place to write?

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in Murray Hill.

Any surprises or learning experiences with the publishing process?

There is so much work involved in being an author, and writing the book is only the beginning.

Looking back, what did you do right that helped you with this book?

So many bloggers have told me that I nailed the character of Kim and they felt like I was writing about them. I think it’s because of how much I appreciate and value the role a book blogger plays in my career.

Any advice for writers looking to get published?

Lots of advice:

1) Don’t submit your first draft.
2) There is a fine line between being able to take constructive criticism and knowing when to trust your instincts.
3) Don’t expect your job to be finished once the book is written.
4) Understand all of your options-Self-publishing vs. small-press vs. traditional publishing-and find the one that’s right for you.
5) Everyone gets bad reviews and I mean everyone!

Website?

http://www.meredithschorr.com

Where can we find your book?

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Blogger-Girl-ebook/dp/B00EDTLDSW/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1375994653&sr=8-1-fkmr0&keywords=blogger+girl+meredith+schorr

B & N:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/blogger-girl-meredith-schorr/1116358028?ean=2940148503125

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/blogger-girl/id686654939?mt=11

Something personal about you people may be surprised to know?

My older sister used to write many of my reports in junior high and high school, and even wrote the speech at my Bat Mitzah. I assure you, however, that I wrote all of my books by myself – with the help of wonderful beta readers and editors, of course 🙂

What’s next for you?

I completed the first draft of my fourth novel about a woman who just turned thirty-nine who is torn with a desire to settle down by her fortieth birthday and a fear that all is not perfect in her existing relationship. I hope to publish this book in late 2014 or early 2015.

Thank you, Meri!

Image

Published by

Eleanor Parker Sapia

Puerto Rican-born, Eleanor Parker Sapia is the author of the award-winning, historical novel, A DECENT WOMAN, published by Sixth Street River Press. The book is a Finalist in the 2016 International Latino Book Award with Latino Literacy Now, and was Book of the Month with Las Comadres and Friends National Latino Book Club. She is featured in the award-winning anthology, Latino Authors and Their Muses, edited by Mayra Calvani. Eleanor is a writer, artist, photographer, and blogger, who is never without a pen, notebook, and her camera. Her wonderful adult children are doing wonderful things in the world, which allows Eleanor the blessing of writing full time. http://amzn.to/1X0qFvK Please visit Eleanor at her website: http://www.eleanorparkersapia.com

12 thoughts on “AUTHOR INTERVIEW FRIDAY – MEREDITH SCHORR”

  1. I loved Blogger Girl (actually all three books but especially Blogger Girl.) I didn’t know you were a blogger girl yourself for so long. They say “Write what you know”– well done!

  2. I loved this interview, Eleanor and Meredith! Your words of advice are incredibly valuable. I really wish I had someone to tell me all those things a long time ago! But, I suppose we learn as we go. I so agree with you about book bloggers and I’m happy you’ve honored them with your book, in a way. I don’t think I would have had the courage to keep writing if so many kind bloggers hadn’t supported me along the way. I can’t wait to read your next book – sounds very interesting!!!

  3. Lovely interview. Sounds like an amazing book. Thank you for sharing your journey with us, Meredith!

Leave a Reply

