Always Have a Plan B…and C, If Possible

A DECENT WOMAN HAS A NEW LOOK!

After much thought and deliberation, I changed the book cover image of my novel, A DECENT WOMAN. The main reason is that two award-winning novelists already used images of the painting by Marie-Guillemine Benoist on their book covers, and like my novel, both novels are about the lives of Caribbean slave women. The fact remains – the painting would have been the perfect image for my book cover, but I felt the need for a little distance. Our stories are completely different…but, you know.

Friends and family told me from the very beginning, “Paint a portrait of your character for your book cover.” I probably should have early on, but there was no the time to tackle painting a portrait with editing, social media, and blogging. Not to mention I had to figure out how to make a book trailer which I finished today. It was great fun to make. If I can make a book trailer, anyone can! I was excited to use photographs I’d taken on my many trips home to Puerto Rico, and I am pleased with the result.

So, back to the book cover. Once I decided to ax the original cover, I decided to play with the theme of  faith that runs through A DECENT WOMAN. I scoured the house for appropriate items, and selected the red, paint-chipped wall of my kitchen porch for the backdrop (which has been on my list to paint white for a year). I shot twelve photographs, and I have to tell you, it was magical. I’m glad I didn’t have time to paint that wall. The lighting was right, the colors were complimentary, and two photographs were very special. I immediately sent the two images to my cover designer and book manager who loved it. My cover designer did a fantastic job putting it all together, and we should have a cover reveal as soon as the mock cover design is approved.

No more hassle with licenses, copyrights, and writing emails trying to track down the owners and photographers of images found on the Internet. It was an ordeal, but today, I am headache-free. Well, I will be as soon as I receive the approval of the mock book cover. And, next time? Next time, I won’t have this problem 🙂

I am excited to present the new, improved book cover AND book trailer of A DECENT WOMAN in the very near future!

 

 

Published by

Eleanor Parker Sapia

Puerto Rican-born, Eleanor Parker Sapia is the author of the award-winning, historical novel, A DECENT WOMAN, published by Sixth Street River Press. The book is a Finalist in the 2016 International Latino Book Award with Latino Literacy Now, and was Book of the Month with Las Comadres and Friends National Latino Book Club. She is featured in the award-winning anthology, Latino Authors and Their Muses, edited by Mayra Calvani. Eleanor is a writer, artist, photographer, and blogger, who is never without a pen, notebook, and her camera. Her wonderful adult children are doing wonderful things in the world, which allows Eleanor the blessing of writing full time. http://amzn.to/1X0qFvK Please visit Eleanor at her website: http://www.eleanorparkersapia.com

One thought on “Always Have a Plan B…and C, If Possible”

  1. Hi Ellie – there are so many things to take into consideration while deciding on a book cover! Look forward to seeing the final result – sounds intriguing! Jan

Leave a Reply

