Author Interview with Sarahn Henderson, Birth in the Tradition

Sarahn Headshot_By Maiyahn (1)

I couldn’t be happier to introduce you to my new friend, the midwife, educator, and writer, Sarahn Henderson. Two months before my historical novel, A Decent Woman went to layout, I was browsing the internet about caul births, and I stumbled upon Sarahn’s website. This was synchronicity at its best! I immediately contacted Sarahn, who was gracious enough to read an advanced reader copy of A Decent Woman. Sarahn gave my novel the first midwifery ‘seal of approval’. I will always be grateful to this beautiful, talented lady, and can’t wait to meet her in person.

Sarahn Henderson is the principal midwife at Birth in the Tradition. She is the mother of five adult children who were born at home. Since 1980, and to her credit, Sarahn has assisted and midwifed hundreds of families into parenthood. Her role models were the Granny Midwives, respectfully called Grand Midwives today. Sarahn has also apprenticed over a dozen women who chose to study or practice midwifery. Her vision is that homebirth will become nationally recognized as a safe alternative to hospital births (for the low risk mother), and that midwifery will become a licensed profession in the US maternal healthcare system. Sarahn is the author of Speak Sistah Speak, Preserving a Legacy and she is a performance artist.

Welcome, Sarahn!

What is your book’s genre/category?

Speak Sistah Speak, Preserving a Legacy is an inspirational coffee table photo book of Giwayen Mata; an all female African dance, drum and vocal ensemble!

Please describe what the story/book is about.

Speak Sistah Speak, Preserving a Legacy is a mélange of eloquent quotes, golden nuggets and voices of inspiration by the women of Giwayen Mata and other “Elephant Women”.  Additionally, it pictorially reflects the twenty years of Giwayen Mata’s growth and continuation.

How did you come up with the title?

Speak Sistah Speak is a Giwayen Mata Performance piece.

Speak_Sistah_Speak_CVR_FINAL (1)

In addition to being the title of GIWAYEN MATA’S book, Speak Sistah Speak is also the name of one of the performance pieces in Giwayen Mata’s repertoire. In this piece, Giwayen Mata’s artistic director, Omelika Kuumba, has addressed the ridicules, laughter and scorned faces from those who disapproved of her and other women stepping out to speak with their hands as female drummers. The title was used here again because being at the forefront, defending this change in attitude about women drummers is our charge and appropriately sums up Giwayen Mata’s 20 years. The preserving a legacy part of the title speaks to Giwayen Mata’s purpose to preserve the stories, language and history of Africa and the African Diaspora through song, dance and rhythms.

What is the reason you wrote this book?

This compilation of stories and words of wisdom are intended to inspire and encourage those who need examples of perseverance to help them achieve their goals. This book is about determination and perseverance. Giwayen Mata continues to trail blaze a new frontier for women drummers.

What is your favorite part of writing?

My favorite part of writing is the sharing of my imaginative thoughts in literal form. Writing is an artistic expression that allows me to create tapestries of words that entertain and inform. Writing is my gift, which I am continuously developing.

What is the most challenging aspect of writing?

Putting my thoughts “perfectly” into words is the most challenging aspect of writing for me. When I find myself rewriting what I’ve already written just to make it read better, the process extends longer than I’d like. Knowing that my words will touch someone in the process allows me to stick to the challenge.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

I don’t have one favorite author. I tend to be attracted to historical fiction literature. So authors who write a good story with interesting characters and events with historical context, can most times captivate me and hold my attention.

What authors or person(s) have influenced you?

I would have to say that Eleanor Parker Sapia and her novel A Decent Woman have been new sources of inspiration and influence for me. Besides being a performing artist, I am also an African American Midwife. I have been intending to publish my midwifery memoirs for years. Eleanor Parker’s book closely resembles my personal experiences in the US. After reading her story, I could tell that it is time for me to write my own. My clients, family and friends are continuously encouraging me to do so.

Favorite place to write?

Since I cannot say on the front porch of my cabin over looking the Smoky Mountains of Georgia or on the patio of my beach home listening to the waves of the Atlantic ocean, I have to confess that my favorite place to write is on my bed with my laptop on my lap desk! My room is my “She Cave” where I retreat to gather my thoughts. The lamp which hangs over my head provides me with the light I use to burn the midnight oil.

Something personal about you people may be surprised to know?

I’m shy! People don’t believe it because I perform and am well known in my community. But get me in a crowd with people I don’t know, I am quite the opposite of the social butterfly.

Any surprises or learning experiences with the publishing process?

Writing and publishing is a process. Going the self publishing route requires doing your own editing, research and marketing.

Looking back, what did you do right that helped you with this book?

Speak Sistah Speak is my first published book. After researching different publishing options, I followed the advice from the first person who put me on the road of self publishing. As a novice, this process has felt safe and has allowed me to have control of what I know and of what I need to know for further works.

Any advice for writers looking to get published?

Write! Be courageous. Don’t be afraid. Don’t procrastinate. If you have a story to tell, write it. Whether you are interested in self publishing or using a publishing company, there are plenty of resources on the web.

Website?

www.giwayenmata.com

Where can we find your book?

Speak Sistah Speak can be found at:

http://www.giwayenmata.org/store/specialty-items/speak-sistah-speak-preserving-a-legacy/  or

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=Speak%2C+Sistah+Speak!!%3A+Preserving+a+Legacy

What’s next for you?

The Memoirs of an African American Midwife by Sarahn Henderson!!

Thank you for a wonderful interview and for the kind words, Sarahn! I am blessed to have you in my life and wish you all the best with Speak Sistah Speak and your memoir! Please keep me posted and visit us again! x

About Eleanor

Puerto Rican-born novelist, Eleanor Parker Sapia, was raised in the United States, Puerto Rico, and Europe. Eleanor’s life experiences as a counselor, alternative health practitioner, a Spanish language social worker, and a refugee case worker inspire her stories. When Eleanor is not writing, she facilitates creativity groups, and is making plans to walk El Camino de Santiago de Compostela a second time.

A Decent Woman is her debut historical novel. Eleanor is the mother of two adult children, and she currently lives in West Virginia.

A DECENT WOMAN available now on Amazon 

Ponce, Puerto Rico, at the turn of the century: Ana Belén Opaku, an Afro-Cuban born into slavery, is a proud midwife with a tempestuous past. After testifying at an infanticide trial, Ana is forced to reveal a dark secret from her past, but continues to hide an even more sinister one. Pitted against the parish priest, Padre Vicénte, and young Doctór Héctor Rivera, Ana must battle to preserve her twenty-five year career as the only midwife in La Playa.

Serafina is a respectable young widow with two small children, who marries an older wealthy merchant from a distinguished family. A crime against Serafina during her last pregnancy forever bonds her to Ana in an ill-conceived plan to avoid a scandal and preserve Serafina’s honor.

Set against the combustive backdrop of a chauvinistic society, where women are treated as possessions, A Decent Woman is the provocative story of these two women as they battle for their dignity and for love against the pain of betrayal and social change.

amazon.com/-/e/B00U05ZO9M

Published by

Eleanor Parker Sapia

Puerto Rican-born, Eleanor Parker Sapia is the author of the award-winning, historical novel, A DECENT WOMAN, published by Sixth Street River Press. The book is a Finalist in the 2016 International Latino Book Award with Latino Literacy Now, and was Book of the Month with Las Comadres and Friends National Latino Book Club. She is featured in the award-winning anthology, Latino Authors and Their Muses, edited by Mayra Calvani. Eleanor is a writer, artist, photographer, and blogger, who is never without a pen, notebook, and her camera. Her wonderful adult children are doing wonderful things in the world, which allows Eleanor the blessing of writing full time. http://amzn.to/1X0qFvK Please visit Eleanor at her website: http://www.eleanorparkersapia.com

5 thoughts on “Author Interview with Sarahn Henderson, Birth in the Tradition”

    1. Thank you for your response. You are correct! When we believe in something strong enough to visualize it and have the determination to carry it through and persevere regardless of the challenges placed before us, it is then when we feel true empowerment!

Leave a Reply

