Author Interview: E.C. Moore

It is my pleasure to welcome fellow Booktrope author,

E.C. Moore, to The Writing Life.

Liz Author Small

EC Moore is the author of INCURABLE, to be released by Booktrope Publishing July 2015. When Elizabeth’s not writing feverishly, you will find her out walking or sightseeing. She’s crazy about coffee, books, cooking, good wine, cairn terriers, miniature ponies, historical houses, tapas, and witty people.

She resides in a fifties bungalow in Southern California, with her creative-director husband, a yappy blonde dog, and one feisty Chihuahua.

What is your book’s genre/category?

Historical Fiction.

Please describe what the story/book is about.

Los Angeles 1956Marilyn Palmer is a beauty with a deep dark secret. After a threatening blackmail note arrives with the milk bottles on the porch of the bucolic home she shares with her doctor husband and young daughter, she hires a private eye to keep her unsavory past hidden.

Incurable is a story wrought with impetuous and regrettable decisions made by a desperate young woman. Barely eighteen years old, and a gifted seamstress, she makes the ill-fated decision to run away from her Detroit home with a wily friend. Bound for Hollywood, and seeking stardom, the girls set out on an incredible journey.

This splendidly imagined debut explores the tumultuous life and times of a woman who suffered the ultimate betrayal as a child during the Great Depression. A tale of survival set against the backdrop of early Hollywood, misery on Hotel Street in Honolulu before the bombing of Pearl Harbor, and heartbreak in Los Angeles during WWII. Incurable delivers emotional intensity with each turn of the page.

Incurable Cover Final

How did you come up with the title?

The Incurable title was pulled from an overall exploratory theme woven throughout the narrative, one’s struggle to understand our own mortality and that of those we love, has always fascinated me.

What is the reason you wrote this book?

The premise was born from a documentary I watched on the History Channel about sex practices during WWII. I was shocked to learn about military condoned prostitution in Honolulu before and during the war. I wondered how all those young girls ended up prostitutes, servicing sailors and soldiers—three minutes for three dollars—on Hotel Street. I immersed myself in researching their stories, and that’s how my protagonist was conceived.

What is your favorite part of writing?

I enjoy every step—working out the initial conception, flushing out the characters, devising plot twists and relationships, and most of all re-writing. I’m an odd duck because I’m into re-writing and editing.

What is the most challenging aspect of writing?

For me, the challenge is dealing with constantly being interrupted. I could write for hours on end, if only real life could be put on hold. I have a fantasy of renting a cabin in the woods and going off to pen my next book. But I don’t think that’s likely to happen anytime soon. I settle for taping a sign on my office door reading, KEEP OUT!

Who are some of your favorite authors? 

Hemingway, Anne Tyler, Larry McMurtry, Alice Munro, Truman Capote, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and John Irving, to name just a few.

What authors or person(s) have influenced you?

My dad was a storyteller, the best I’ve ever seen. He could keep an entire room of people entertained for hours. As far as writers go, I have to choose Hemingway because when I was in high school I read The Three Day Blow, and that’s when I knew I wanted to strive to be the best writer I could be.

Favorite place to write?

Anywhere, coffee houses are a favorite. But mostly I write at home.

Something personal about you people may be surprised to know?

I was reading at the ripe old age of three. My mother said I just taught myself somehow, but I think it had something to do with having a big brother who was eight years older to mimic. He taught me to write out my long name in cursive, and when I first attended kindergarten and showed my teacher she couldn’t believe it.

Any surprises or learning experiences with the publishing process?

You must cut, edit, and proofread till your ears bleed. And good editors are hard to come by.

Looking back, what did you do right that helped you with this book?

I listened to the stories my elders told. I transformed many of their accounts into fictional people in a fictional setting.

Any advice for writers looking to get published?

Never give up. Never stop writing and never stop trying. Don’t jump the gun and send subpar work to agents or publishers. The more you write the better you’ll get. And read, read, read. Someone who doesn’t love to read can’t possibly produce a great book.

Website? 

ecmooreauthor.com

Where can we find your book?

Incurable will be published by Booktrope Publishing July 2015.

What’s next for you?

My next book, Every Big & Little Wish will be out in the late summer/early fall of 2015. I am currently writing Insatiable, a follow up to Incurable, look for it in 2016.

Thanks for a great interview, Elizabeth! I look forward to reading Incurable, and wish you much success with the book!

 

About Eleanor Parker Sapia

Puerto Rican-born novelist, Eleanor Parker Sapia, was raised in the United States, Puerto Rico, and Europe. Eleanor’s careers as an artist, counselor, alternative health practitioner, Spanish language social worker and a refugee case worker inspire her stories. She is a member of PEN America and the Historical Novel Society. When Eleanor is not writing, she facilitates creativity groups, reads, and is making plans to walk El Camino de Santiago de Compostela a second time.

A Decent Woman is Eleanor’s debut novel, set in turn of the century Puerto Rico. The book was selected as 2015 July Book of the Month for Las Comadres & Friends Latino Book Club. Eleanor is the mother of two adult children and currently lives in West Virginia, where she is writing her second novel, The Island of Goats.

A DECENT WOMAN available on Amazon 

amazon.com/-/e/B00U05ZO9M

Published by

Eleanor Parker Sapia

Puerto Rican-born, Eleanor Parker Sapia is the author of the award-winning, historical novel, A DECENT WOMAN, published by Sixth Street River Press. The book is a Finalist in the 2016 International Latino Book Award with Latino Literacy Now, and was Book of the Month with Las Comadres and Friends National Latino Book Club. She is featured in the award-winning anthology, Latino Authors and Their Muses, edited by Mayra Calvani. Eleanor is a writer, artist, photographer, and blogger, who is never without a pen, notebook, and her camera. Her wonderful adult children are doing wonderful things in the world, which allows Eleanor the blessing of writing full time. http://amzn.to/1X0qFvK Please visit Eleanor at her website: http://www.eleanorparkersapia.com

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: E.C. Moore”

  1. My heart is racing after reading the interview and story line of E.C. Moore’s upcoming novel, Incurable. July, get here! I also am signed up to follow this Writing Life blog. Looks like wonderful interviews. (Perhaps I can be a guest once When Songbirds Returned to Paris comes out, via Booktrope.) And my next read will be A Decent Woman! Such good stuff coming on.

    1. Hello, Elizabeth, fellow Booktroper! I’m excited for EC Moore’s novel, as well! Thanks so much for following my blog, your kind words, and for reading A Decent Woman! Much appreciated! I’d be more than happy to host you and wish you much success with When Songbirds Returned to Paris! Please let me know how you enjoy Ana’s story. Eleanor x

Leave a Reply

